Onboard Chargers
Dual Pro Sportsman Series Review: Buying on Reputation Over Spec Sheets
Quick answer
The Dual Pro Sportsman Series 3-bank charger publishes 10 amps per bank, 30 amps total, built in the United States, though its own listing states no selectable lithium profile and no waterproof rating, leaving far less published detail than newer rivals.
Dual Pro is the brand a lot of tournament boats end up with after a cheaper charger fails, and the Sportsman Series trades on that reputation more than on a detailed spec sheet. This review is built from Dual Pro's own published specifications and the consensus of verified owner reviews, not a charger tested in person.
The three bank version reviewed here publishes 10 amps per bank, 30 amps total, which is a genuine, correctly stated per bank figure rather than a total shared across banks. What the listing does not publish is almost as notable as what it does: no selectable charge profile, no stated lithium compatibility, and no waterproof rating claim, at a price above chargers that publish considerably more.
What does Dual Pro actually publish about the Sportsman Series?
The Dual Pro Sportsman Series 3-bank charger, 10 amps per bank is stated as a three bank charger delivering 10 amps to each bank, 30 amps in total, assembled in the United States. Beyond banks, amperage and country of assembly, Dual Pro's own published listing is unusually thin: no selectable charge mode by chemistry, no thermal compensation feature stated, and no waterproof or water resistant rating claimed anywhere in the specification. The two bank Sportsman Series 2-bank shares the same 10 amp per bank rating on two circuits instead of three, for boats running a smaller bank.
How does 10 amps per bank compare against the other chargers here?
Dual Pro's Sportsman Series 3-bank matches the 10 amps per bank the NOCO GENPRO10X3 publishes, without stating a lithium mode or a waterproof rating.
Published figure A published engineering, regulatory or manufacturer figure. It does not change because somebody disagrees with it.
| Charger | Per bank | Lithium mode stated | Waterproof stated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dual Pro Sportsman 3-bank | 10 A | No | No |
| NOCO GENPRO10X3 | 10 A | Yes | No |
| ProMariner ProSport HD 20A (3-bank) | up to 20 A, shared total | No | Yes |
The catch with buying on reputation alone
Dual Pro's reputation on tournament boats is real and widely repeated in owner reviews, but the published listing for this charger does not back that reputation with the kind of detail newer chargers state outright. No selectable lithium profile is listed, so anyone running a lithium bank on this charger should confirm charge voltage and compatibility directly with Dual Pro before connecting a pack like the LiTime 36V 50Ah, rather than assuming a well regarded brand automatically means lithium safe. No waterproof rating is stated either, which the ProMariner ProSport HD publishes outright at a lower price. The price premium here is buying trust built over years on the water, not a longer published feature list.
Step down, or choose a charger with more published detail instead
Step down to the Sportsman Series 2-bank when the boat runs two batteries rather than three; the per bank rating and the same thin spec sheet carry over unchanged at a lower price. Choose the NOCO GENPRO10X3 instead when a stated, selectable lithium profile matters, since it matches this charger's 10 amps per bank while publishing a lithium mode this listing does not state. The Minn Kota MK-330PC is a genuine budget pick at the same 10 amps per bank, from a motor brand most owners already trust for other gear on the boat.
Sources
- Dual Pro published specifications for the Sportsman Series 3-bank onboard charger
- Dual Pro published specifications for the Sportsman Series 2-bank onboard charger
- Recurring themes in verified owner reviews of the Dual Pro Sportsman Series
Frequently asked questions
How many amps does the Dual Pro Sportsman 3-bank deliver per battery?
Ten amps to each of three banks, 30 amps in total, correctly stated as a per bank figure rather than a shared total. That matches the NOCO GENPRO10X3's published per bank rating and beats the ProMariner ProSport HD 20A's shared total on a fully discharged three battery bank, where the ProMariner effectively splits less than 10 amps to each battery.
Can the Dual Pro Sportsman charger safely charge a lithium battery?
Dual Pro's own published listing does not state a selectable lithium charge profile for this charger, unlike the NOCO GENPRO10X3 or the Minn Kota MK-345PCL. Anyone with a lithium bank should confirm charge voltage and compatibility directly with Dual Pro before connecting a pack, since a charger without a stated lithium mode risks either undercharging or holding a LiFePO4 pack at a voltage it should not sit at.
Is the Dual Pro Sportsman charger waterproof?
No waterproof or water resistant rating appears anywhere in Dual Pro's published specifications for this charger, which is a real gap next to the ProMariner ProSport HD line, which publishes a genuine waterproof rating. Anyone mounting this charger in a bilge or a compartment that takes on spray should plan separate protection rather than relying on the charger's own case.
Why does Dual Pro cost more than similarly rated chargers?
Reputation built over years on tournament boats, and United States assembly, are the two things Dual Pro's own listing and its owner reviews consistently point to, rather than a longer published feature list. The electrical specification, 10 amps per bank across three banks, is matched by cheaper chargers that also publish more detail, such as a selectable lithium mode.
What is the difference between the 2-bank and 3-bank Sportsman Series?
Two banks versus three, both at the same published 10 amps per bank. The 2-bank suits a smaller boat running a 12 or 24 volt bank, while the 3-bank matches a 36 volt, three battery motor system. Neither published listing states a selectable charge profile by chemistry, so the choice between them comes down entirely to how many batteries the boat actually carries.
Is a cheaper 10 amp per bank charger just as good?
Electrically, a charger publishing the same 10 amps per bank delivers the same current regardless of brand. The Minn Kota MK-330PC matches that rating at a lower price, and the NOCO GENPRO10X3 matches it while adding a published lithium mode. The case for paying more for Dual Pro rests on brand reputation and country of assembly rather than a stronger electrical specification.
Get the complete rigging shopping list
Every item in the beginner, intermediate and expert rigs for both a boat and a kayak, with running totals, in one printable list. No charge.
One list, no sequence of daily emails, and you can leave at any time.
Researched, not professional advice. This page is compiled from published engineering and regulatory figures, manufacturer specifications and owner-review consensus, not hands-on testing. Figures described as a rule of thumb are boating convention rather than published standards, and they are labelled that way wherever they appear. Marine electrical work is not house wiring. Use tinned, finely stranded marine cable, size it for voltage drop and for the ABYC E-11 ampacity table rather than one or the other, and put overcurrent protection within seven inches of the battery positive terminal, because everything between the post and the fuse is unprotected. A lithium battery needs a charger with a lithium profile. Never load a boat past its capacity plate, and remember that canoes and kayaks carry no federal capacity plate at all, so their stated capacity is the manufacturer own figure. Wear the life jacket, and treat early season water as the hazard it is: cold water immersion takes your breath and then your hands long before it takes your core.